Thursday, September 6, 2007

IEEE Awards

I've just received the list of the 2007 IEEE Awards, and I wanted to make a comment. First of all, many congratulations to dear Prof. Michael S. Shur, for his two (yes, TWO) awards. The first award is the Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award, that goes to those able to show inspirational guidance of graduate students in all IEEE fields of interest. Prof. Shur obviously is a most than adequate recipient for this award. His second award (jointly with Arturas Zukauskas) is the Donald G. Fink Prize Paper Award, and goes to the authors of the most outstanding paper published by the IEEE.

I also want to congratulate Prof. Yannis P. Tsividis, who is the recipient of the 2007 Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award, that goes to those providing outstanding contributions to the fundamentals of any aspect of electronic circuits and systems that has a long-term significance or impact. Again, Prof. Tsividis is a mythical figure in the field of Device Modeling.

In brief, many congratulations for them and for all the other recipients of the IEEE Awards!

No comments: