Wednesday, January 30, 2008

SINANO Institute

The SINANO (SIlicon NANOdevices) Institute, a new European association for research in Nanoelectronics, has been created. The SINANO Institute is composed of 16 top European institutions in the field of Nanoelectronics, and is intended to be one of the top European centres in Nanoelectronics, together with IMEC, LETI and Fraunhofer Institute. The Founding Members of the SINANO Institute participated in the former European Network of Excellence called SINANO (2004-07).

The kick-off meeting of the SINANO Institute took place on January 28 in Grenoble (France). The Internal Regulations were approved. Prof. Francis Balestra (INPG, France) was elected Director of the SINANO Institute. Prof. Olof Engström (Chalmers, Sweden) was elected Chairman of the General Assembly. The elected members of the Governing Board were: Emmanuel Dubois (IEMN, France), Heinrich Kurz (RWTH-Aachen, Germany), Enrico Sangiorgi (IUNET, Italy), Denis Flandre (UCL, Belgium) and Evan Parker (University of Warwick, UK).

The SINANO Institute will participate as a single entity in international projects. The Institute will develop scientific collaborations between the associated Members and national and international public and private entities that operate in the field of Nanoelectronics. The Institute will also develop collaborations with the industry, aimed at the exploitation of new ideas and concepts, their demonstration in prototype form and technological transfer.

The Founding Members of the SINANO Institute are:

Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium),

AMO GmbH (Gesellschaft für Angewandte Mikro- und Optoelektronik mbH,
Aachen, Germany),

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH (Jülich, Germany),

RWTH Aachen University, Institut für Halbleitertechnik (IHT, Aachen, Germany),

Univ Rovira i Virgili (URV, Tarragona, Spain),

Consorzio Nazionale Interuniversitario per la Nanoelectronica (IUNET, Bologna, Italy),

Institut Polytechnique de Grenoble (INPG, Grenoble, France),

Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille (USTL-IEMN, Lille, France),

IMEL, NCSR “Demokritos” (Athens, Greece),

Warsaw University of Technology (Poland),

Chalmers Tekniska Högskola AB (Göteborg, Sweden),

Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan (KTH, Stockholm, Sweden),

University of Glasgow (UK),

University of Liverpool (UK),

Newcastle University (UK),

University of Warwick (UK)

No comments: